Asia-Pacific Area: Economic Community Recommends Uniform Adoption of GHS 7th revision

The Asia-Pacific Economic Co-Operation (APEC) community, representing 21 nations and almost half the world’s population, has advised its members to adopt the GHS 7th revision uniformly by the end of 2021 to harmonize its requirements across member states. The goal of the community is to simplify trade in one of the world’s fastest-growing economic areas.

Along with the adoption of GHS 7th revision, APEC recommends that its members:

  • Provide flexibility when classifying building blocks
  • Participate in the APEC regulator forum when it defines hazard categories and thresholds

As part of a survey, APEC has developed an overview of the status of the GHS in individual countries and published the results in its APEC CD GHS Implementation Convergence Questionnaire 2019 Progress Report. The APEC Web site provides further information, including appendixes with progress reports. The following countries participated in the survey:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Philippines
  • Russian Federation
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • United States
  • Vietnam

Most countries have already implemented GHS revision 3 and 4. Six countries (Canada, Malaysia, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, and the United States) plan to implement GHS 7th revision but have not indicated if they will do so by 2021. In early June, Australia announced a consultation on accepting GHS 7th rev.

If you need any support related to GHS guidelines, please contact us at

Share This Post

Post Navigation