Three Substances Banned

Some 1,200 environmental experts from 171 countries met in Geneva in mid-May for the Seventh Conference of the Parties (COP 7) under the motto “From Science to Action: Working for a Safer Tomorrow” to discuss future handling of chemicals and waste. One important result is the listing of three substances in the Stockholm Convention. The substances include polychlorinated naphthalene and its salts, hexachlorobutadiene, and pentachlorophenol (including salts and esters).

The 79 countries that signed the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants – (POPs) want to forbid or limit the production, use, and release of POPs.

For further information about the Stockholm Convention, about POPs or prohibitions and restrictions or to prepare for future statutory requirements, please contact us under


Share This Post

Post Navigation