Toy Safety Directive: Three More Allergenic Fragrances to Be Prohibited

The EU Commission is looking to modify Directive 2009/48 (Directive on the Safety of Toys) and prohibit three more allergenic fragrances. The EU Commission notified the World Trade Organization (WTO) of its intentions on March 17.

The chemicals involved are atranol, chloroatranol, and methyl heptine carbonate. The regulation should take effect in early 2022. Annex II of the Directive lists a total of 58 allergenic fragrances.

Cosmetics containing atranol are also prohibited from the EU market after August 23, 2021, as required by Article 2 of the Cosmetics Regulation (EU Regulation 2017/1410).

For any questions about the legal security of your products, please contact us at

Share This Post

Post Navigation