Cosmetics: Eurasian Economic Union Aligns Its Rules with the EU Cosmetics Regulation

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), consisting of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia, has harmonized its cosmetics legislation with the requirements of the EU Cosmetics Regulation. The modification of the EAEU technical regulations for perfume and cosmetics takes effect on May 6. The Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) has issued a press release on the changes.

With the new legislation, the member states define which chemicals are permitted in perfume and cosmetics and which are not. The list of prohibited and restricted chemicals and the list of permitted dyes, preservatives, and UV filters were updated.

They are part of the national register of chemicals and mixtures, which is to become a pillar of the Eurasian chemical law, TR EAEU 041/2017 und Eurasia-REACH (in Russian).

Because of Corona crisis, the Russian Ministry of Industry and Trade (Minpromtorg) in April 2020 extended the deadline for companies to submit data to the national register of chemicals.

If you need any support, please contact us at

Share This Post

Post Navigation